Well, I decided to write a Brief Guide to Math-o-mir. It is a PDF file that you can download from here (234kB). This Brief Guide is 15 pages long. I believe that the Brief Guide was necessary because I am convinced, and several potential users also mentioned it, that the existing Users Manual is just too voluminous – the Users Manual is almost 100 pages long.

If you have the opportunity to check the Brief Guide, I would be happy to hear your comments. Especially about how to make it shorter and clearer. I am aiming at 12 pages. I am already aware that my English is broken, so don’t be ashamed when it must be pointed out.

In the Brief Guide, I decided to first explain the keyboard entry methods, and only then to explain the mouse usage. I am not sure if this is a good idea, but I think that it will be clearer to readers that it is the keyboard entry they should concentrate about.

I also think that the Brief Guide can be friendly to teachers and their students. Asking a student to read the Users Manual would be too cruel.

***

Did you know that in Finland they will have math matriculation exams completely digital from 2019. Students, age 19 mostly, will bring their own computers and boot them into exam-environment OS (Debian/Linux). There they will have selection of math software that they will be able to use when taking the exam. No paper will be used… Very brave, I would say. I wish them a good luck. It would be interesting to see how the things will turn out… I did not find much background information about this idea (in English), particularly about motivation and expectations. In any case, I hope that Math-o-mir will be one of tools students will be allowed to use during the exam.

