A slight function plotter improvement is implemented in this 2.0 beta2 version. You can download it from here… My primary concern was to increase computation speed when plotting functions, but I don’t think I was very successful at it.

  • Computation algorithms are optimized and this resulted in about 20% faster function plotting and somewhat increased accuracy. My goal was set much higher, but I failed. Still I hope the function plotter will be more responsive now.
  • I implemented possibility to plot up to 4 functions simultaneously inside one plotter window (until now, only 3 functions were possible).
  • The plotter window grid and coordinate system is now continuously updated as you scroll or stretch the plotter window. Thus, the navigation should be easier now. I also marked zero-x and zero-y axis with a thicker line width.
  • Experimentally, while the ‘analyze’ option is turned on, the integral of the first function is calculated (for the range shown) and displayed in the lower-right corner of the plotting window.

plotter

  • In addition, I added ‘\triangle’ and ‘\square’ commands. You can also type ‘x^~’ to put tilde over the variable ‘x’.

Numerical computation

Because the Math-o-mir is not a number cruncher, a non-trivial numerical computation is not really supported. Therefore I am using the ‘analyze’ option of the function plotter when I need to crunch some numbers. The function plotter is capable to numerically find local minimums/maximums as well as intersection points between two functions. For example, when I need to find zeros of some function (only for functions of single variable) that I cannot solve symbolically, I will plot it in the function plotter together with a trivial ‘y=0’ function and the function plotter will find their intersections. Now I also implemented the numerical integration within the function plotter (all of this has limited accuracy, and results should be used with care.)

My further goal is to implement a ‘parametric function plotter’. This one will be somewhat more complex and will be able to plot equations in parametric form. I still have no idea how the user interface should look like… What I really want is to be able to use it also for simple numerical simulations: it should be able to work with integrals and derivatives. I would like to simulate some simple linear and non-linear systems in time. At least those that can be solved equation by equation. Now you understand why I am trying to increase the computation speed.

